Disarmament and international security Committee

From fast-paced conflict resolution to revolutionary policy changes, the Disarmament and International Security Committee lies at the forefront of the United Nations General Assembly. As the first committee of the General Assembly, DISEC addresses conflicts and threats to international peace, and tries to maintain global stability and security. Although its resolutions are non-binding, DISEC’s efforts are highly influential and often lay the groundwork for resolutions in other committees of the United Nations. The vast membership of DISEC makes it an especially important organ for dealing with issues of an international scope.

This committee is designed for both beginners and experienced delegates alike. Position papers, although strongly recommended, are not required. However, delegates who wish to be considered for an award must submit their position papers by Sunday, January 13, 2019, at 23:59 PST. More information about position papers can be found on page 3 of the Background Guide.

Topic A: Religious Tension in the Middle East (Click to show summary)

Topic B: Radicalization and Recruitment of Terrorists (Click to show summary)

Sameer Esmail | Director

Sameer is a senior student at Burnaby Mountain Secondary School and is beyond thrilled to serve as the Director of the Disarmament and International Security Committee at VMUN 2019. Sameer began his Model United Nations career at VMUN in Grade 9. Since then, he developed a passion for the intense diplomatic discussions, and has now delegated and staffed at numerous conferences including ones in Vancouver and New York. Outside of the world of Model UN, Sameer is involved in his school’s student government, debate, and numerous humanitarian causes including a recent service trip to Ecuador. Sameer continues to be driven by a passion for international affairs, politics, and diplomacy, and hopes to inspire that same passion in delegates this coming year. Sameer wishes the best of luck to all delegates at VMUN 2019.

Thrisha Mohan | Chair

Thrisha Mohan is a senior at the International School of Bellevue and is incredibly excited to staff VMUN 2019. This year is Thrisha’s fifth year of MUN, and VMUN will be her 17th conference. While she isn’t staffing or doing work for MUN, Thrisha enjoys working for local political candidates in Seattle and planning fundraisers for her school. Thrisha is ecstatic to serve as your chair for DISEC and hopes to see you all in committee!

Stephanie Chang | Assistant Director

Stephanie Chang is currently a junior at Richmond Christian School and entering her third year of Model UN. Since attending her first conference in Grade 9, she has never stopped appreciating the fast-paced discussion and energy of the committee room. She hopes to bring her passion for international relations to VMUN and encourages delegates to develop creative solutions that critique the status quo. Outside of MUN, she enjoys writing poetry, interning at a publishing house, Half Mystic Press, drinking matcha lattes, maintaining a “healthy” school-life balance, and coaching debate at Vancouver Debate Academy. Stephanie looks forward to meeting everyone for a lively weekend and cannot wait to serve as Assistant Director in DISEC for VMUN 2019!

Winston Huang | Assistant Director

Winston Huang is a grade 12 student attending St. George’s School. Having delegated in MUN conferences for all of high school, he is excited to staff as an Assistant Director of DISEC in the upcoming VMUN! While he initially joined MUN to improve his public speaking skills, he eventually came to love the collaboration and negotiation that takes place within the committee room, and hopes to foster that same love in newer delegates. Outside of MUN, you can find him jamming on the drums, binge-watching YouTube videos, and (occasionally) working out at the gym. Winston hopes that the upcoming VMUN will be exciting and engaging, and most certainly a weekend to remember.

You can contact the Director at disec@vmun.com with any questions regarding the committee or its debate procedures. Position papers must also be submitted to this address.