Staff applications for VMUN 2023 are now open!

First Ministers of Canada

The First Ministers of Canada is a uniquely Canadian interprovincial committee consisting of 13 Premiers and one Prime Minister—collectively known as the First Ministers. Representing all the provinces and territories, and the federal government, the First Ministers’ objectives focus on addressing and mediating the differing views between the provinces and the federal government. Delegates in this committee will represent key Canadian government leaders from coast to coast and will be provided the opportunity to discover and explore region-specific Canadian issues to a deeper extent than any other committee.

This committee is designed for intermediate and experienced delegates who have a desire to learn more about Canada and significant Canadian issues. Position papers are mandatory and must be submitted by April 17, 2022, at 23:59 PST. More information about position papers can be found on page 3 of the Background Guide.

Topic A: Pipelines in Canada (Click to show summary)

Topic B: Canadian Telecom Reform (Click to show summary)


Darren Tsai | Director

Currently in his Grade 10 year at St. George’s School, Darren is honoured to be serving as the Director of the First Ministers of Canada at VMUN 2022. Ever since raising his placard for the first time in Grade 8 to recite a seconds-long pre-written speech, Darren’s inspiration for the fast-paced debate and diplomacy in the world of Model UN has only grown. It was through Model UN that he discovered his interest in debating international relations and politics. When not addressing the committee, Darren can be found watching Canadian politicians’ most cringeworthy moments, spending nonexistent hours playing iMessage games with his friends, and firmly defending his opinions on political issues around the world. He looks forward to an enthralling weekend filled with fruitful deliberations at VMUN 2022.


Darren Yang | Chair

A Grade 12 student at Lord Byng Secondary School, Darren is ecstatic to serve as the Chair of the First Ministers of Canada at VMUN 2022. Darren is entering his fourth and final year in Model UN, and it is evident that his initial experiences have ignited into a fiery passion for this activity. Whether it be the riveting debate during committee sessions, the thousands of brain cells lost during midnight crises, or the brilliant people he has met along the way, Model UN has transformed his identity and his view of the world. When procrastinating, Darren can be found endlessly scrolling through TikTok (which he downloaded as a joke), exploring the natural wonders of Greater Vancouver, or wasting his non-existent allowance on bubble tea. Darren looks forward to a fruitful weekend full of debate, excitement, and caffeine!


Jenna Zhang | Assistant Director

Jenna is a Grade 11 student attending Richmond Christian Secondary and is honoured to serve as the Assistant Director of the First Ministers of Canada for this iteration of VMUN. After participating in MUN for a year, she has already made many unforgettable memories, ranging from delegates requesting a one-on-one fight amongst each other to saving humanity from fish with legs. Outside of the conference room, Jenna can be found wishing for the newest five-star on Genshin, drowning at swim practice, or being indecisive about what to wear for the following day. She wishes all the prospective delegates of First Ministers the best in the coming conference and hopes that they all will forge new memories.

You can contact the Director at Any questions regarding the committee or its debate procedures will be answered by email. Position papers must also be submitted to this address.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *