The African Union is a continental union established in 2001 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, and launched in 2002 in South Africa, with the aim of replacing the Organisation of African Unity (OAU, established in 1963 with 32 signatory governments). It was created with a variety of objectives: to achieve greater unity between African nations, to protect the sovereignty of member states, to promote democratic principles, and many more. The AU is the principal body tasked with promoting pan-Africanism and facilitating continental integration. Following the January 2017 admission of Morocco, the AU now comprises all of continental Africa.

This committee is specifically designed for intermediate and experienced delegates. Position papers, although strongly recommended, are not required. However, delegates who wish to be considered for an award must submit their position papers by Sunday, January 13, 2019, at 23:59 PST. More information about position papers can be found on page 3 of the Background Guide.


You can contact the Director at Any questions regarding the committee or its debate procedures will be answered by email. Position papers must also be submitted to this address.